Temple Classification


Temples in the State are mainly under the control of three Devaswom Boards, viz. Malabar Devaswom Board, Cochin Devaswom Board and Travancore Devaswom Board. There are many temples in Kerala governed by the trusts or management committees consisting of local people. There appears no uniform classification of temples for the State as a whole. In Malabar region the temples are classified into seven grades based on annual income. Temples having annual income of one lakh and above come under Grade I and less that Rs.7000/- comes under Grade VII. Temples under Cochin Devaswom Boards follow no specific rule but they classify temples into A and B based on income, importance and convenience. Temples under Travancore Devaswom Board are classified into five – Major Class I, II, III, Minor and Petty based on expenditure, i.e., Major Class I Rs.10,000 and above; petty Rs.100 and above. In major temples all prescribed pooja (rites or worship) are performed, while in minor and petty temples two poojas and one pooja respectively are performed

Designed by www.maplemedia.org