Antiquity & Deities  |  Religious History | Durga Temples  |   Siva Temples  |  Vishnu Temples
Ganapathy Temples  | Sastha Temples Subramanya Temples |  Other Temples


As in the other parts of the State, the temples of the district were also owned and administered by private individuals or private bodies known as Ooralars till 1812. In 1812 Diwan of erstwhile Cochin State took steps to control the administration of temples. Devaswoms in the erstwhile Cochin state were divided into various categories, viz., Sirkar Devaswom, Vazhipad Devaswom, Keezhedams etc. In 1907, all these Devaswoms were merged and put under the control of a Commissioner. The Travancore-Cochin Hindu Religious Institutions Act of 1950 was an important enactment under which the Cochin Devaswom Board was established. 114 temples of the district are directly or indirectly under the administrative control of Cochin Devaswom Board. Travancore Devaswom Board owned 121temples in the district. Majority of the temples in the district are still managed by Ooralars (individual owners), Trusts, Temple Committees, communal organizations etc.

Designed by